GLOOMYSALEM'S ANIME BLOG


Welcome & My History with Anime

Welcome to my Anime Blog!
Anime has been one of my favourite things ever since I discovered it back when I was like 8. My first anime was technically Pokemon XY, but since most people watched Pokemon as a kid, my *true* first anime was Angel Beats (I think), which remains one of my favourites to this day. Another anime that was one of my firsts was Bleach, I watched the whole series with my Mum, Dad and brother. Anyway, once I got into anime, I watched SO much, basically as much as I could. If I wasn't watching anime, I was drawing my favourite characters or listening to my favourite OPs. I also ended up spending lots of time talking about anime with others online, specifically with friends I made on scratch.mit.edu. I spent basically my entire childhood on that site. At the time, where I lived, literally nobody at my school knew what anime was, so it's not like I could talk to anybody IRL about those interests (especially since I didn't have any friends during primary school in the first place). So having people on scratch to talk to about anime was great, I was even in a Black Butler RP group on there at one point. I was super cringe.

Anyway, a decade later and I'm still pretty obsessed. I hope to write about some of my favourite (and least favourite) anime on here, I think sharing my thoughts will be very fun, and force me analyse the series I watch a bit more. I look forward to writing, and I hope you will look forward to reading!

My Current Favourite Anime

My current top two anime are definitely Madoka Magica and Banana Fish. I don't know if I could pick a favourite between the two of those. Of course, I plan to write about each of these in depth in blog posts here. I had actually know about Banana Fish for ages, but only ended up watching it in February of 2022. I hadn't watched it for years because whenever I saw it being talked about online, I always saw people calling it a yaoi, and I had no interest in that genre. Oh man do I regret not watching it for so long, it is genuinely one of my favourite pieces of media to exist and people really undersell it by just focusing on the 'BL' elements (not that I have anything against BL, I'm just not interested in romance). With Madoka Magica, I had started watching it when I was younger, but never finished it until a rewatch around 2020 (might have been the year before, I forgot). Once I actually completed it, and the movie, Rebellion, I was kind of shocked how much I loved it. It's only 12 episodes and a movie, but the pacing is perfect, all the characters are well explored and it's overall a great experience. I'll avoid gushing about it too much here, and leave that for it's own post.


Credits:

Image Above is official art of Yuri Nakamura & Kanade Tachibana from Angel Beats (Source)
Background Music is Leaper by Shinichi Osawa from the Banana Fish Original Soundtrack
Banner Image is Ash Lynx from Banana Fish, Illustrated by Hayashi Akemi (Source)
Background Image is also from Banana Fish (Episode 5, 22:39)